The Lagos division of the Court of Appeal has affirmed the forfeiture of $40 million worth of jewellery belonging to Diezani Alison-Madueke, a former Minister of Petroleum Resources to the Federal Government of Nigeria.

On September 10, 2019, a Federal High Court Ikoyi division, ordered the final forfeiture of the said pieces of jewellery and a customized gold iPhone all valued at $40 million, to the Federal Government.

The presiding judge, Justice I.N. Oweibo held that Mrs Alison-Madueke had not shown cause why the properties should not be forfeited, hence he granted EFCC’s prayer. Not satisfied with the ruling of the High Court, Mrs Allison-Madueke approached the Appellate Court seeking to overturn the decision of the lower court.

What happened?

On July 5, 2019, Justice Oweibo granted an interim forfeiture of the items seized at the residence of the ex-Minister at No.10 Fredrick Chiluba Close, Asokoro, Abuja. He granted the interim forfeiture following an ex-parte application brought before the court by the EFCC.

The Appellate Court, yesterday dismissed the appeal of Mrs Alison-Madueke and held that there was no substance in her bid to overturn the order of the HighCourt.

The Appellate Court, therefore, affirmed the decision of the lower court which ordered the final forfeiture of the items to the Federal Government.

The forfeited items include 419 expensive bangles; 315 expensive rings; 304 expensive earrings; 267 expensive necklaces; 189 expensive wristwatches; 174 expensive necklaces and earrings; 78 expensive bracelets; 77 expensive brooches; and 74 expensive pendants.

In case you missed it

Nairametrics reported that the EFCC Chairman, Abdulrasheed Bawa disclosed that the anti-graft Commission had seized jewellery worth N14 billion and houses worth $80 million from the ex-Minister.

What you should know

Mrs Allison-Madueke is the first female president of OPEC.
On 26, July 2007 she was appointed the Minister of Transportation.
In December 2008 she became the Minister of Mines and Steel Development.
On April 6, 2010, she was appointed Minister of Petroleum Resources by President Goodluck Jonathan.