The House of Representatives announced the launch of a seven-member Conference Committee on the Electoral Act Amendment Bill. This was disclosed by the House Speaker, Rep Femi Gbajabiamila, during the plenary on Tuesday in Abuja.

The Speaker also added that the House’s conference committee is set to work with the upper chamber on the electoral Act concurrence. The members of the House Committee on Electoral Act are Akeem Adeyemi as the Chairman, James Faleke, Chris Azubogu, Abdullahi Kalambaine, Blessing Onuh, Aisha Dukku and Unyime Idem.

The Electoral Act which was been in the works in anticipation of the 2023 election was a source of controversy in July as the Senate insisted that INEC may only electronically transmit election results if the Nigerian Communications Commission endorses the mode of electronic transfer as safe and secure.

In case you missed it

Nairametrics reported that the Speaker of the House of Representatives, Femi Gbajabiamila revealed that lawmakers voted against the electronic transfer of results to prevent the electoral disenfranchisement of their constituents.

“INEC is empowered by our laws to conduct elections and NCC has a mandate in terms of technology and capacity. They need to work together for us to have credible elections.

“Those who voted against electronic transfer did so for a reason, not personal, they believe that their constituents would be disenfranchised. The fact that I am not disenfranchised does not mean the other person is not.”

The Speaker also cited the potential for hacking as a reason for the vote against the electronic transfer of results.