President Muhammadu Buhari has announced the approval of a Health Sector Reform Committee, for development and implementation of a Health Sector Reform scheme in the country.

This was disclosed in a statement by the Presidency on Monday evening as reported by NAN. Vice President Yemi Osinbajo, will chair the reform committee according to the statement.

The Presidency added that the approval comes after the Health Sector Diagnostic Review Report, developed by Vesta Healthcare Partners and the Federal Ministry of Health.

What President Buhari said

The statement released by Malam Garba Shehu, Senior Special Assistant to the President on Media and Publicity noted that, “The committee would undertake a review of all healthcare reforms adopted in the past two decades and lessons learnt, and factor them into the development of the new health sector reform programme.”

The Committee set up for a period of six months, had members drawn from private and public sector, health care management professionals, development partners, representatives from the National Assembly, as well as the Nigeria Governors Forum among others.

Members of the committee include Gov. Ifeanyi Okowa of Delta; Dr Osagie Ehanire, Minister of Health; Mr. Alex Okoh, Director-General, BPE; Prof. Ibrahim Abubakar, Professor in Infectious Disease Epidemiology, University College London and Director of the UCL Institute for Global Health.

Mr Babatunde Irukera, Director General, Federal Competition and Consumer Protection Council; Sen. Ibrahim Yahaya Oloriegbe; Dr Adedamola Dada; Dr Sani Aliyu and Dr Mairo Mandara would also serve in the committee.

Others are: Dr Haliru Yahaya, Emir of Shonga; Prof. Uche Amazigbo ; Director Hospital Services, Federal Ministry of Health; Dr Faisal Shuaib; Prof. Nasiru Sambo; Dr Ifedayo Morayo Adetifa and Dr Gambo Aliyu.

In addition, Dr Betta Edu ( Chairman Nigeria Health Commissioners Forum, representing National Council on Health); President Nigeria Medial Association and President Pharmaceutical Society of Nigeria also make up members of the committee.

President, National Association of Nigeria Nurses & Midwives; President, Association of Medical Laboratory Scientists of Nigeria; Mrs Temi Marcella Awogboro; Dr Muhammad Sadiq; Dr Azubike Tagbo and World Health Organisation, Nigeria are also members of the committee.

Vesta Healthcare Partners and Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, are expected to have observer roles.